Easiest 1st Step for TX Carry License
100% Video: Phone, Tablet, Computer
Stop and Resume Where you Left Off
99% Pass Rate on Test
Shortest Course Allowed by TX Law
Lifetime TX Legal Carry Law Updates
Forget about sitting in classrooms on your weekend, or poring over textbooks for hours at a time. Take your Texas License to Carry a Handgun training online, and learn around your own schedule!
Steps to get your Texas License to Carry LTC (CHL)
Military? We have Instructions specific for you. Click "Military" tab.
(469) 242-3934 which is 4 hours (shortest allowed time by law) and then you will have a 25 Question Multiple choice test. You have 3 attempts to pass this test and 99% pass rate on 1st attempt with our training. Once you complete the test you will be emailed your signed Texas LTC-101 Certificate which will be filled out showing you successfully passed the required âclassroomâ portion Online. If you want more details on CHLOnline Training Process. Click "Details" Tab above
2. Shooting Test must still be completed. (1 Hour ) CHLOnline.Com may have a recommended instructor in your area but any TX LTC Instructor can provide this training. Your âRangeâ Instructor will need to sign your training form that we provided to you in Step 1. The range process is 1 hour of training and then you must take the âshooting testâ this test is very easy and you can even take the test with a 22LR pistol. To find instructors in your area you can google âLTC Instructors (city name)â and find many instructors you can email, call or some provide the info of when their next class is. Remember you only need the âshooting portionâ not the entire License to carry class as you have already done the classroom part in step 1. This cost is usually only around 20 dollars. If Range Training/Test is 1 on 1 it may be more.
3. Apply Online for your Texas LTC (Click) After you complete TX LTC / CHL application and pay fee (if required) you will be given prompts to set up a fingerprint appointment nearest to you of a time, date of your choosing the fingerprint process normally takes about 5 minutes. When you are applying with TX online they will ask for certrain supporting documents such as LTC-101 you got in step #1, which also must be signed. We do have a video of step 3 on CHLOnline.Com
2. If you have a Military range card or range scores, etc. from within the past 10 years of your LTC application you do not have to complete the âShooting Portionâ and can do all of your training with CHLOnline.Com. You will have to show proof for step 3 for TX State Application (not to us) of your military range card or military range scores.
3. 7046048528 (click) and supply TX DPS with "supporting documents"
Paid Customers will have access to a step by step video on this entire process from start to finish!
CHLOnline.Com Training = $69 You only pay us $69. All other fees are collected by the state of texas at the time you apply on Tx DPS website.
Active Military = $69 (Only Pay for CHLOnline Training, TX Application Fee is Free)
Retired Military = $69 + $25 = $94 ($69 CHLOnline & $25 TX Application Fee)
Regular Joe Civilian = $69 + $40 = $109 ($69 CHLOnline & $40 TX Application Fee)
When does the License Expire? Initial is 4 Years, Renewal is good for 5 years.
No to both questions! Per dibromid, legal residents of another state or persons who relocate to Texas with the intent to establish residency may obtain an LTC. Those individuals must submit an application, pay the required fees, successfully complete the required training in Texas and submit all supporting documents. They also must submit form LTC-6, two passport style photos and a copy of their out of state driver license or state issued identification card. Note, however, that all LTC applicants must be legal residents of Texas or another state.
Active Texas Military Members: Must provide current proof of service. Submit a copy of your LTC-100/LTC-101, military range scores, from within the preceding 10 years of your LTC application, can be used in place of the proficiency portion of the LTC-100/ LTC-101 (GC Â§ 411.1881).
Active Military: Copy of your military identification and a copy of your current leave earnings statement; Or current orders; OR current pay stub; OR letter from your commanding officer; OR DD-214 showing honorable discharge and date (if application is within 365 days of discharge). Submit a copy of your LTC-100/LTC-101, military range scores, from within the preceding 10 years of your LTC application, can be used in place of the proficiency portion of the LTC-100/LTC-101 (GC Â§ 411.1881).
Veteran/Retired Military: Copy of DD-214 stating character of service as Honorable; OR Any other official documentation showing that the applicant is honorably discharged or retired military.
*CHLOnline.Com does not need these documents these are documents that you will need for step #3 ( See above) when you are doing your application for License to Carry a Handgun for Texas.
Certified under Texas GC 411.188 and GC 411.190 to administer the LTC Online Course